Mitzvah

Yesterday you proved my point America. You need me to show you how to live. I was coming home from a new hair cut and a damn sexy one I might add. I see across the street a Mom and daughter broken down on the road during rush hour. To paint the picture I live down town in my state’s capital and the main hub is four lanes with a very pleasant grassy area with trees as a median. So on the other side I see traffic is backed up so I’m rubber necking like everyone else and see a Toyota Camry with a mother and daughter in the car. So I turn my 5’6” 140 pound ass around (not the best help pushing a car also I know shit about cars I’m a sailor), pull over and I jog to the car. So I get there and see the COEXIST bumper sticker my favorite. I have the original on my front door. So they are in the left lane and luckily there is a parking space open on the side of the road across the other lane of traffic. So the street is getting backed up but people are still flying by a single mom and her daughter that looked like she just got off soccer practice.

So I get to her car and frankly scare the shit out of her when I knock on her window. I’d shouted as I approached but her windows were up and the traffic is loud as countless people rushed by. Not Gentleman approved driving by a woman broken down America. I say lets push you out of traffic and to the parking spots before some drunk hits you. .My Grandpa always said, “Drive safe the roads are full of drunks and damn fools.” Luckily she had a stick shift, just like me, and we were waiting for a break in the traffic to push the car across the street.

Just as I was about to yell push to the ladies a pick up truck pulls onto the side of the street and a fellow gentleman, thank God a large one, leans out the window and shouts “Need a push?”. I shout “Hell yeah”. He pulls the big truck across both lanes blocking traffic, jumps out, gets next to me on the trunk and we line backer this car across both lanes and into the spot as I shout “Like a glove.” I go to shake his hand and thank him, but like a crack head running from a debt, he was gone like a flash; never to be seen again. Thanks dude your Gentleman approved. The Mother said thank you so much Sir. I replied the Sir is buried call me Oceans and left. She had already called a tow truck.

People for the love of God stop for each other; COEXIST. I will condone drugs used responsibly, drinking till blackouts, and orgies but only with condoms. But I cannot condone the actions of all the people who drove by. How many cars do you think drove by a woman and little girl without even giving two flying fucks. Shameful America.

And now to the Parents. That’s right Parental units be a good example for once. As blink 182 said “If were Fucked up your to blame.” How many parents drove by and didn’t help with their kids in the car. What kind of a message does that send. Sorry little jimmy we are headed to the food store that is way more important then helping your fellow man for five damn minutes. Not even fellow man; woman and daughter. Christ America if my sister was broken down on the road and you drove by not caring I would drive over your nuts so you could not contaminate the seed of humanity.

One of the greatest memories of my Father is when he pulled over to help a car on the side of the road. Really both my parents always stopped. It turns out that a girl from our home town had blown a tire on the bridge coming back from college. Some how she maintained control to the end of the bridge and got the the shoulder. Dad said stay in the car while I check this out because it was dark. He saw the problem and told me to come see. I watched my Dad calm this poor panicking girl down and we gave her a ride to her house which was right down the road from mine. The entire time she just said “Thank you, Thank you Thank you, Thank you, I was so scared.” over and over again. She had been there for three hours at night. That night she could have frozen to death on the side of the road because no one in our small town gave two flying fucks to stop and check the car. Look for the sock in window America. This was the world before cell phones and when she got home the look on here parents face I will never forget. I’m part Serb and we are not all crazy. My favorite Serb tradition is the mitzvah. Also in Hebrew. This is the the word for good deed and my Grandmother said we should do one every day. Helping that Mom and daughter push the car was a good mitzvah yesterday.  I still got drunk that night, I still got high, and I still got laid on the couch the floor and in the shower(chicks love a rescue story) . Drugs and alcohol do not define you. What you do for your fellow man is what is important.

It’s a small world people. Next time you see a car on the side of the road getting help it might be me pushing. Stop and help, I’m small, but I always help my fellow man. We are all stuck on this planet together till we get to mars, or blow ourselves up (Don’t forget Zombies) so we may as well shut the fuck up, get drunk, possibly high depending on your state, have some protected consensual sex and just COEXIST.

So America my content editor is on vacation so no one around to pull reigns on me.  This is a new chapter what do you think? Anybody going to stop and help your fellow man next time? Make pledge in comments.

38 thoughts on “Mitzvah

  1. I’m halfway accross the Globe, Philippines, specifically. but from the lady’s point of view, this is one great value that everybody, not just men must practice, nobody is an Island, we must COEXIST. I like reading your blogs. It’s simply talks about the reality of life.
    Kudos Ocean.

    • One of my favorite quotes

      No Man Is An Island

      No man is an island,
      Entire of itself.
      Each is a piece of the continent,
      A part of the main.
      If a clod be washed away by the sea,
      Europe is the less.
      As well as if a promontory were.
      As well as if a manor of thine own
      Or of thine friend’s were.
      Each man’s death diminishes me,
      For I am involved in mankind.
      Therefore, send not to know
      For whom the bell tolls,
      It tolls for thee.
      John Donne

  2. Great Mitzvah you did today. I agree COEXIST! Help your neighbor and if you cant stop yourself CALL 911 and follow up to make sure the person is helped.

  3. No one has to know about drugs or alcohol when you are doing your good deeds, in fact it’s best that no one knows this way you keep the Karmic Balance of the Universe in check! I’ve done the same thing on an icy stretch of highway in the past while heading out to party. I waited to make sure the tow truck arrived and made sure they stood behind their vehicle (and my rental vehicle at the time.) Lots of people were sliding and losing control and crashing into the snow bank, the roads were just damn awful. I even educated them as to why they should never wait in front of their vehicle. When it was all over a sincere thank you was good enough for me and I was on my way.

  4. It is my rule already to help people. Even if they don’t even know they need help. Seriously though it is something that drives me insane around the world, this lack of caring, NOTICING, other people, even in small ways. Common courtesy is easy. Hold a door open, say thank you and excuse me, buy a coffee or lunch for a homeless person, make an extra effort on the subway…never sit in a designated seat without being prepared to leap up and give it to someone else, or any seat for that matter. Thanks Oceans. If you ever need anything, just say the word.

  5. If I’m able I do always try to help because I know I would want the same if I was in need. What you said about your hair cut being sexy made me laugh. Great article and thanks for the follow.

  6. You are awesome! I sometimes feel as if there aren’t many good people around but there are! You are one of them! BTW, I always do my best to help everyone and be mindful too =)

    It takes a village! =)

  7. Good to know there are still gentlemen around! Also, so true, set an example to your family by helping others, in so many ways… coexist, right! This was priceless!

  8. For the love of God is so right … it’s like when you’re in the store and see someone knock something off teh shelf and then they just ignore it … drives me f’ing crazy … PICK IT for the love of God!!!

  9. Well said Ocean! It’s so strange because a lot of people are so tangled in social media. So many people are wondering what everyone else is saying or what everyone else is doing on twitter and other media cites but no one cares about the physical world around them. Their heads are so far down that they just don’t see anymore. I really do think that she might have stood a better chance of getting help if she would have sent out a tweet with a hashtag and her location. It’s sad but this is the world we live in. I am proud to say that I still live in a country were people look out for each other (Bermuda). People here would stop in a heart beat and offer a hand to a stranger any day.

  10. You are a Power of One, a true diamond in the slightly rough. Sadly, sometimes the people who “help” have dark and evil hearts, and there poor stranded soul is never to be seen again. I would not accept help from a stranger, and it’s a shame that we have come to such distrustful paranoia.

  11. In this day and age, it is rather sad that “gentlemen” are so few and far between. What used to be commonplace behaviours are now seen as acts of heroism. I’m glad that you stopped to help.
    Thankfully, I live in small town Canada and we stop to help still too.

  12. What a great post! Someone once picked my husband up on the side of the road when he was stranded in a desolate stretch of Utah. I’ll always be grateful to people (like yourself) who help others on the side of the road. Thanks also for following Travel Oops! Cheers, Steph

  13. Great post and yes I will stop. I did stop. Long story short, I got a black eye, my favorite pair of jeans torn up and lost one boot. Of course from my all time favorite pair of boots. The last time I stopped I ended up eating icecream with 3 kids and a rather stressed out mom. We stil are friends. So yeah.. I’ll stop.

  14. I usually end up giving up my seat on the train during rush hour for pregnant women, women with kids and old ladies and the like. I try to do the little things each chance I get. It’s my way of giving back to the universe. But sometimes I wish he’d reward me just as he did to you, sex on the couch, floor, etc., but I’d like mine sober.

  15. I help… WITH kids in my car. It pissed them off the first time I stopped to pick up an old man, walking in freezing rain. Kids need to see that. ‘We got to carry each other, carry each other…’

  16. I think fear is what leads to alot of “not stopping” There are tons of stories about “this person stopped to help another person and the good samritian got clocked in the head and his car stolen.”

    However, it was obvious in this situation, it was a mother and daughter so Kudos to you for doing the right thing. And Kudos to the stranger who helped.

    I live in the Los Angeles area. Stopping on a freeway to help someone happens pretty much never…I know, I’ve been that single mother with the small child on the side of the freeway while cars zoom bye. It traumatized the boy and made me curse the fact that I wasn’t super hero enough to stop my car from breaking down.

Leave a Reply

