Video

A PIECE OF SLATE

America we have no idea what the road holds for us. I’ve been up, down, rich, poor, together and alone. And what have I learned? It’s about the journey not the destination. You can’t fight change. You not getting any younger and your days are numbered. We want to think our lives will be perfectly linear from birth to death devoid of problems. I’m going to work this job, raise my kids, retire, get old and die. Or at least most of us. But I’m different America. I think every day is precious. You never know when that drive by is going to get you. That drunk driver is going to smash you. The doctor gives you the bad news. Or a piece of slate falls off a roof and kills you. When I was in High school I was walking to the library and a piece of slate falls off the roof plummeting four stories and smashes it’s ten pound razor sharp ass right next to me. I mean inches from my head America. I realized then we have a lot less control then we think over our fate. I saved a piece of that slate tile to remind me to live every day to the full. To live my dreams with no regrets and always say why not instead of why. Don’t be so busy making a living you forget to make a life America. Some day that piece of slate is going to hit you. And all that will be left… Our tales.

Long Live the Writers

Oceans

5 thoughts on “A PIECE OF SLATE

  1. The piece of slate (not literally, but there’s been a few close class) has nearly gotten me a few times. Sometimes I think a higher power is keeping me alive just to get a good laugh. 🙂

  2. I like that your brain kind of went out of its way and took something positive from an experience that could have been…well, fatal. I also like that you made a conscious decision to confiscate a piece of the slate, so the lesson learned would not be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

